Key Researchers


Key Researchers: Cigarette Taxes and Pricing

Kenneth Warner, Ph.D.
University of Michigan School of Public Health

Kenneth E. Warner is Dean of the University of Michigan School of Public Health and the Avedis Donabedian Distinguished University Professor of Public Health. He is also Director of the University’s Tobacco Research Network. He has been on the School's faculty since 1972. An economist, Dr. Warner earned his A.B. degree summa cum laude from Dartmouth College in 1968 and M.Phil. and Ph.D. degrees from Yale University in 1970 and 1974, respectively. Presented in over 200 professional publications, Dr. Warner's research has focused on economic and policy aspects of disease prevention and health promotion, with a special emphasis on tobacco and health. Dr. Warner served as the Senior Scientific Editor of the 25th anniversary Surgeon General's report on smoking and health, published in 1989. He is on the editorial boards of four professional journals and chairs the board of the international journal, Tobacco Control. He is a consultant to numerous governmental bodies, voluntary organizations, and businesses. Dr. Warner was a founding member of the Board of Directors of the American Legacy Foundation and served as the President of the Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco in 2004-05. He has testified before the U.S. Senate and the House of Representatives. On two occasions, Delta Omega, the national public health honorary society, cited Dr. Warner for “outstanding achievement in public health.” In 1989, Dr. C. Everett Koop awarded him the Surgeon General's Medallion. In 1990, he received the Leadership Award of the Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs Section of the American Public Health Association. In 1996, he was elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and was named to the first class of Fellows of the Association for Health Services Research (now AcademyHealth). In 1997, Dr. Warner received the Excellence in Research Award from the UM School of Public Health. In 2002 he received the Richard and Barbara Hansen Leadership Award from the University of Iowa College of Public Health. The same year, he was elected to the University of Michigan Scientific Club, an honorary dating from 1875. In 2003, at the World Conference on Tobacco or Health in Helsinki, Finland, he received the inaugural award for Outstanding Research Contribution in the international Luther L. Terry Awards for Exemplary Leadership in Tobacco Control. Dr. Warner was a Kellogg National Fellow from 1980 to 1983 and a Visiting Scholar at the National Bureau of Economic Research at Stanford University during 1975-76.
Who We Are  | SAPRP Staff

SAPRP • One Leadership Place • Greensboro, NC 27410 • P: 336.286.4548 • F: 336.286.4434

A National Program supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation with direction and technical assistance provided by the Center for Creative Leadership.
SAPRP Home SAPRP Knowledge Assets Home